Catching up from the summer

After all the wedding blog posts, I’ve neglected to show you any of my other summer sewing.

I haven’t been very busy, but there are quite a few things to catch up on. Most of which I photographed over a month ago so the weather and number of layers may look rather different to the current conditions outside. I’m currently snuggled up in my PJ-est PJs, fluffy dressing gown and thick wool blanket.

dsc03031dsc03035dsc03039dsc03045

I made this dress from about a metre and a half of vintage cotton. It was a weird shape, so I properly had to patchwork the pieces together, but thanks to the abstract print, I don’t think it’s noticeable.

dsc03048dsc03049dsc03046

The pattern is Simplicity 2444, which I’ve made so many times now that I think I have the fit perfect. This time I lowered the armholes slightly as they were a bit tight last time. I also lowered the neckline a little bit, but that was just to change the style slightly.

dsc03047dsc03043dsc03040

I sewed a centre seam in the front skirt and used a vintage zip in the back. I love this dress. It reminds me of ice cream. Mmmm.

dsc03041

dsc03030

At the same time as cutting this one out, I actually cut out another version, which I’ll show you in a few days. Hope you’re looking forward to that 🙂

13 thoughts on “Catching up from the summer

  1. Pingback: Matilda dress | dreaming of avonlea

  2. Your dresses are so cute! Also, I am envious of your picture quality! I’ve been really trying to make my blog as good as I can, and the one thing that keeps evading me is really amazing pictures. I’ve gotta say, you have done an amazing job with your blog!

I'd love to hear what you think...

