The next LWD

As promised, here is the second dress I made from the lace I was considering using for my wedding dress.

DSC02179

Unlike the last one, this dress is more fitted. I lined the whole thing with some plain white cotton I had in my stash. As the skirt doesn’t have the border print that the last dress has, I treated the cotton and the lace as one layer and overlocked them together. After that I hemmed the whole thing by topstitching it down.

DSC02181DSC02183DSC02184DSC02204DSC02208

I used my tried and tested Simplicity 2444 pattern, which I’ve tweaked to fit perfectly at the bodice. (You can see the previous versions here and here). I actually think I need to lower the armholes about 2cm on the next version, but other than that I really like the fit of this pattern.

DSC02185DSC02187

I didn’t have enough of the lace to cut the front bodice on the fold, so I added a central seam instead. I think the flow of the print makes it quite subtle, but I added a row of buttons as an additional feature anyway. I’ve actually had the buttons in my stash for ages, but they needed something plain and simple to go with. I think this dress works perfectly.

DSC02193DSC02189

I don’t have much to say about this pattern as I’m sure I’ve said it all before in previous posts. So I’ll let the photos do the talking.

DSC02188DSC02191

I took these photos on a different day and in a different bluebell woods to the last dress. We’ve been fortunate to have quite a bit of sun recently (not going to put any bets on it lasting though). I’ll just look forward to wearing it in Sorrento!

DSC02199DSC02197DSC02209

12 thoughts on “The next LWD

I'd love to hear what you think...

