Good things come in threes…

And today that good thing is the THREE year anniversary of my blog – whoa, where did that time go?

In light of the whole ‘three’ thing, I decided I’d do a top 3 hits of 2015 rather than the standard top 5.

My SIL’s wedding dress – mostly for the privilege of being asked to make it.

DSC00757

This wedding guest dress – I LOVE the fabric and the lines with all the lace inserts.

DSC00219

And this one – well, mostly because polka dots! But also because I actually worked on the fit of this until it was perfect, and it’s now one of my go to ‘pretty dresses’.

DSC09375

Last year I resolved to take my time and sleep on any sewing issues I was having. I think as a whole, that worked really well.

I thought I’d made fewer items last year, but I’ve just looked at the projects I finished and I was rather surprised by the number.

In total I made:

Dresses 24 (1 wedding dress for SIL, 7 bridesmaid dresses, 16 dresses for me)

Skirts 6 (4 for me, 2 for bridesmaids)

Tops 3

Coats 3 (2 for Martin – 1 yet to be blogged, 1 for me )

 

This year, the only resolution I’m making is to put less pressure on myself to sew or blog. I have a few rather important projects lined up (my 5 bridesmaid dresses, my wedding dress(es possibly) and a wedding dress for a friend. Therefore I don’t have many grand ambitions for other garments.

So far, the only sewing related activity of 2016 has been to sort out my sewing books. I have so many that I never even look at and so many more that I’d like to use properly. Perhaps that’s a slight resolution too.

Anyway, Happy New Year to you all – I hope 2016 is treating you well so far. I’ll be back soon with Martin’s coat post.Screen Shot 2016-01-05 at 21.00.22

10 thoughts on “Good things come in threes…

  1. Wow! A great year, and a busy sewing year coming up! You are amazing to take on all those wedding and bridesmaid dresses – they will be the most rewarding things you’ll ever make (especially your own wedding dress!). I only made one wedding dress last year and it took me ages! well two I suppose if you count my Blue practice Dress. All the very best with your sewing and for 2016 in general! can’t wait to read about what you make. Xx

  2. Congratulations! Looks like 2016 is going to be a full year for you just with those bridesmaid and wedding dresses! BTW- Your top 3 are beautiful and you were very prolific in 2015!

I'd love to hear what you think...

