Dreaming of…warm November times

In more ways than one.

Number one – because we went to the beach last Friday and it was positively sunny!

And Number two – because I just made a warm ‘coat’.

I say ‘coat’ rather than coat, as I think coat (without the quotation marks) implies that a lot of work has gone into something. This on the other hand, was a super speedy make.

thumb_DSC01219_1024

thumb_DSC01220_1024

thumb_DSC01222_1024

thumb_DSC01223_1024

I’ve been fancying a shorter, more light weight coat over the last year or so. It seemed like fate when a friend handed me a bundle of Prima patterns her mum had at home. One of those patterns was this simple, unlined, wrap coat.

I actually shortened the coat by about 7 inches so that it hits at about hip level.

thumb_DSC01226_1024

thumb_DSC01235_1024

thumb_DSC01228_1024

thumb_DSC01236_1024

You may have noticed the, not so subtle, contrast collar and belt ends. I’d love to say that this was intentional. However, I’m sure you can guess where this is going…it was not.

thumb_DSC01255_1024
It was actually down to a lack of fabric.

I think this was a lucky problem though as I rather like the finished effect. To tie (no pun intended) it all in, I thought I’d also add a bit of a contrast to the belt ends.

thumb_DSC01253_1024

Being unlined, this coat was very quick and easy to make. It doesn’t leave the neatest insides though, so I think I would bind the seams if I were to make this again.

On the plus side, it does have pockets 🙂

thumb_DSC01254_1024

I’d also make it a size or 2 smaller. I went by my body measurements, which meant I cut out a size 14. However the coat is very loose now, and I had to put shoulder pads in to give the sleeve heads a bit of shape as they were just hanging off my shoulders. I think the finished result is a bit 1980s, but I don’t think that’s necessarily a bad thing.

thumb_DSC01242_1024

thumb_DSC01246_1024

thumb_DSC01245_1024

thumb_DSC01244_1024

thumb_DSC01249_1024

All in all, for such a simple make, I think this will get a lot of wear on fairly mild days throughout the year. A light weight jacket. Exactly what I wanted. Plus I managed to stash bust some more fabric. Win win!

8 thoughts on “Dreaming of…warm November times

I'd love to hear what you think...

