Dreaming of…cool and comfy cotton

A few months ago I was lucky enough to win a giveaway from Fiona of the fabulous blog Diary of a Chain Stitcher. I don’t often enter giveaways, but I really wanted this Sew Over It shirt dress anyway, so it seemed like as good a time as any to put my name in the hat, and I won! Wahoo! So thanks Fiona πŸ™‚

As soon as I received this pattern in the post, it jumped quite far up my sewing list. I’ve had a few bridesmaid dresses to make so it had to wait a while, but as soon as I had a free weekend, I leapt at the chance to get to it.

I had already picked out the fabric for this dress, so design was already sorted. The fabric is a lovely soft cotton, which presses beautifully and is nice and cool for the summer especially as it isn’t lined. It was perfect to wear on a wet and muggy day.

I didn’t muslin this. I read a few other blog posts, which mentioned that the bodice was quite short, but that suits me perfectly so I just cut out the dress by the finished garment measurements. I figured that the fabric was cheap enough to replace if it went horrendously wrong.

IMG_1004

Luckily it didn’t.

I now have a very wearable summer shirt dress in a pretty cotton fabric and with some of my favourite buttons. Yay!

DSC00442

Everything came together really quickly with this dress, although none of my notches matched up. I’m not entirely sure why, but I have a feeling that I mixed up the sizes where I cut the notches. I just winged it though and it seemed to work.

DSC00443

The darned notches also resulted in me tearing the CB when I tried it on before attaching the collar. I managed to fix it by using some hem tape and patches of fabric on both sides. You can barely see it now, but it was still annoying!
IMG_1322

The other thing I changed slightly was the number of buttons. I really wanted to use these ones that I’ve had in my stash for ages, but I only had 5. I spaced them out evenly, starting with one at the fullest bust point (I also felt like this opened up the neckline a bit more. I don’t like collars that feel too claustrophobic) and sewed the bottom of the skirt closed so that it wouldn’t gape. I also sewed secret buttons on the inside between outer button 1,2 and 2,3. It’s all lovely and sturdy now, with no gaping.

DSC00464

I wore this dress when we went to Portmeirion a couple of weeks ago. It’s a little piece of Italy in North Wales, but unfortunately the weather was pure North Welsh!

DSC00446

DSC00448

DSC00455

I love that the skirt is narrow enough to not blow around in the wind. Makes it very practical for a Welsh summer. Just in case though, I wore mini leggings underneath to protect my modesty.

DSC00457

I’m not sure whether it looks best with or without a belt. What do you think?

DSC00461

DSC00460

22 thoughts on “Dreaming of…cool and comfy cotton

  1. Ooh how lovely! Another vote for no belt from me. I’ve never made a shirt dress but I’m feeling like it might be a good idea! Yours is lovely. xx PS just replied to your comment on my Wedding dress “fabric shopping” post… I’m not sure if Blogger lets you know I’ve replied so just thought I’d say here too, definitely do email me about your wedding dress with any questions!! xx

I'd love to hear what you think...

