Dreaming of…a few of my favourite things

A post with EVERYTHING that makes me happy may be rather long, so I’ll honour you with 3 recent highlights in reverse order.

Number 3
Holidays that feature the sound of music.

Yep, that’s right we’re back in Salzburg for this last stop on my ‘Handmade Holiday tour’ and today we’re at the much less touristy Schloss Leopoldskron. Now a hotel, this setting includes the lake on which Maria and the children overturned the boat while the Captain and Baroness watched in horror/amusement.

DSC09738

As we walked around the lake to get to a good photo location, I was full of interesting little anecdotes about the film. Martin was less than interested, but I was revelling in the scenery – Sound of Music, mountains, castle, sun – it had it all.

Including ducks!

Including ducks!

So we stopped and took photos of …

Favourite thing Number 2
Handmade dresses.

DSC09739

DSC09740

This is a self-drafted dress made from the same fabric as this top.

The nature of the jersey meant that I didn’t need to add any darts, but I did need a zip as it doesn’t have that much stretch.

DSC09742

I bound all the edges with bias binding, but used ribbon on the waist and shoulders to stop them stretching out.

DSC09760

The hardest part of this dress was figuring out the box pleats. I spent hours (literally) trying to work out the maths, before I gave up and made enough pleats to fit each waist section of the bodice (each side of the back and the front piece), chopped off the excess and sewed the side seams back together. The pleats are all still the same width, but there’s a bit of a gap at the side seam and I should have left more of a gap at the CB as the pleats get in the way of the zip a bit.

DSC09750

DSC09749DSC09755DSC09756

In the end, I sewed down the excess pleats on the back and then had to treat the CB seam as a REALLY THICK piece of jersey fabric. It wasn’t working to sew the seam with right sides together, so I did something that I’m pretty sure breaks a million sewing rules. I lined up the stripes with the CB edges just touching, and used my widest, shortest zig zag (satin) stitch to catch it all together :-/ It pretty much looks fine, apart from a few skipped stitches where my needle just got tired of pushing through so many layers. So I coloured them in with a biro – oh ye gads, I can feel the looks of horror right now!

DSC09752

Moving swiftly on. I inserted an exposed zipper by hand on the important edge – again, my machine was struggling with the layers so close to the zipper teeth. Luckily I was able to sew down the outer zip edge on the machine, which reinforced it nicely.

DSC09757

I wanted the zip to end right at the top, but obviously didn’t plan that well, so I sewed in a hook an eye. And obviously didn’t plan that well either as it’s not even at the top of the centre back!! All I can say is that I was in a hurry to finish this dress before we left for holiday.

I can definitely see this dress being worn in the summer, without tights. It goes well with bright accessories and wouldn’t it look fab with a broad rimmed hat?

DSC09753

DSC09745

The only problem I have with this, is that the hem wants to curl up. Any tips for how to avoid this in the future, and/or fix it now?

So, notes on the handmade dress done, we move on to…

Favourite thing Number 1
Martin…
…because, after all that blog photo taking, this happened…

DSC09763IMG_0801

Prepare to see much more talk about wedding planning on here. I have so many ideas and I’m so excited about doing lots of things ourselves.

It was the most amazing holiday and I pretty much haven’t stopped smiling since!

32 thoughts on “Dreaming of…a few of my favourite things

  1. Pingback: Me Made May Days 25-31 | dreaming of avonlea

  2. Oh! Congratulations! I didn’t see that coming at the end of the post! Such a beautiful ring!
    I love your dress. I like a deep white and blue stripe. It always looks so fresh.

  3. Oh my goodnesssssss! Congratulations!!! 😀 😀 All I talk about is wedding planning these days. 2.2 months to go! I’m excited to hear someone else talk about it. LOL. Will you be making your wedding dress or buying it? Immediately when I got engaged, I started researching what I wanted my dress to be and how I would make it. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think...

