Dreaming of…polka dots, pearls and productivity.

Well, I have the first 2 sorted in this outfit, and despite appearances (or lack thereof), I have been very productive behind the scenes too! Just not on the blog posting front.

I’ve been going through my entire mending pile and taking in a load of clothes. Plus I’ve been making some bridesmaid dresses for a friend, so that’s taken up a lot of time. Not sure why I feel the need to explain my absence, but there it is in case you were wondering.

Anyway. During one of my dress alterations, I stumbled across this dress.

DSC04710

I had a bit of a dilemma as to what to do with it. On the one hand, it was quite a striking shape and always got lots of compliments, on the other hand, I never wore it because the back was too low and I hated the bow.

DSC04716

After a little contemplation, I decided to order some more of the fabric and remake a new bodice.

I cut away the original skirt, which was super full! I didn’t want to lose any of the fabric in it, so I pleated it to be the correct waist size.

DSC09142DSC09146

DSC09163

The new bodice was created using a bodice block I made. I think this one is much more wearable, but hopefully still quite striking!

DSC09138

DSC09141

I love the fabric and I’ve just ordered a poofy petticoat to go underneath. Amazing!

DSC09143DSC09149

DSC09153

As you can see, I braved the cold again to take these photos.

DSC09131

DSC09136

In fact, I stood there in the rain, looking like a cross between Alice in Wonderland and Blair Waldorf, and enduring some puzzled looks, and I didn’t care at all, because I love this dress so much. It’s so pretty!

DSC09156

DSC09165

DSC09168

The dress is finished with a metal zip and a hook and eye. I think it makes the dress looks a bit more stylish.
DSC09159
What do you think – do you prefer this version or the original?

28 thoughts on “Dreaming of…polka dots, pearls and productivity.

  1. Love this version! I do like the bow and low back of the other, but I don’t think it’s that easy to wear. So this one gets my vote for sure. Love the metal zip addition as well. 🙂

    • Ah thank you. I still have the other bodice, so I can still look at the pretty bow, it just might look a little odd, not attached to anything! I love a metal zip at the moment. Think it looks quite stylish!

  2. I love the new bodice! I also wouldn’t have worn the other one very much, I find low backs can be so so beautiful, but there’s so many “negatives” to low backs, for me the main one is that it’s always so much colder in a low back dress/top!

    The shape is still beautiful, the fit is amazing!

  3. I love both but you have to be able to wear it don’t you? So I am very impressed you got round to changing it! It does look gorgeous! How did the shirt get so full!? Is it in panels?

  4. Oh I definitely like the new and improved version. I feel like its a much more flattering cut. I’ve definitely had a few backless pieces hidinh in my closet that don’t get much wear, there’s something about exposing my back in any season but summer that just feels weird. Love the exposed zipper! Beautiful!

  5. Oh! This dress is so lovely! I like classic polka dots of all sorts and when you combine them with a super full skirt. . . It is just fantastic!

  6. I agree — exposed zippers are always a great idea. 🙂 The new version looks lovely! I’m totally digging your super cute shoes, too. This whole outfit is a win!

  7. First of all, I love exposed zippers! They are absolutely stylish and a great contrast when the piece is super feminine.

    I think the new bodice is an absolute win- the other definitely hung way too low, even though the bow in the back was quite nice. I know very well what its like to have something pretty in the closet… but one thing is “off” about it, leading it to continue to sit there unused.

I'd love to hear what you think...

