Dreaming of…summer sun and seasonally appropriate outfits

Basically, this is a summer dress.

DSC09083

Now in my defence, it’s another remade item, so I haven’t actually gone out of my way to make a summer dress in the middle of winter.

That didn’t stop me feeling like a complete fool when posing in the park. When looking over the photos, I was intrigued to see that my skin was taking on the same shade of blue in the dress!

DSC09100

DSC09086

DSC09089

DSC09090

However, having already altered one part of this reversible dress, I couldn’t very well leave the other half floundering until it was seasonally appropriate. ‘Clothing cruelty’ one might say. So I went for the alterations anyway.

I knew that I wanted to completely change the bodice. It needed taking in a lot and I have been wanting to make Simplicity 2177 again as a more casual dress than before.

I kept the skirt mostly as it was and remade the bodice using the existing top and a section of the skirt pieces. I had to be rather creative and re-sew a new seam so that it all matched up symmetrically.

DSC09094

DSC09092

The lack of fabric means that my waistline seam is actually rather curved, and it could do with being taken in a bit more, but with a wide belt I think it looks rather nice, and will definitely be a good holiday dress.

DSC09091

Oh and in case you hadn’t noticed, the neckline gapes a bit. Ive taped it down for these pictures (ouch), but I’m hoping some serious steaming will help fix the issue!

DSC09102DSC09082

Apologies – I also didn’t realise how much it needed ironing!

12 thoughts on “Dreaming of…summer sun and seasonally appropriate outfits

  1. What interesting lines in the bodice of you dress! I love it! I have been working on summer dresses and I don’t even care…. I will be soooo ready for spring!

  2. Lara, I can’t believe you’ve been hanging round the park in that dress (Roath or Bute?!) without catching pneumonia! I think it’s lovely, I like the bodice & waistband. It will look even lovelier in the Summer, on a warm evening with a glass of chilled wine!
    Hope all is well. Any news of the inspectors?

I'd love to hear what you think...

