Dreaming of… the final product!

And here it is.

THE coat!

I think I’ve said enough about the construction of this coat in previous posts, here, here and here.

So I’ll stick with pretty pictures for this post.

DSC08964

DSC08965

We were on our way to a wedding when we took these photos. The coat stood up perfectly to the test of; a long drive, snow and Grandma approval!

DSC08966

DSC08967

I’m very proud of this make. A LOT of effort went in to getting the fit as perfect as I could, and I’m pretty pleased with the end result on that score.

IMG_0646

IMG_0647

DSC08968

DSC08976

The buttons actually do up in a different place to the original design, and I used far fewer. Only 6 on the front and none of the inside ones, but that was intentional and I don’t think it looks any worse for it!

DSC08969

IMG_0645

I tacked down the lower lapel, but the collar is free to stand on its own.

DSC08970

DSC08977

DSC08978

DSC08979

This was my first time attempting welt pockets. They aren’t perfect, but I’m still very impressed with myself!

IMG_0648
DSC08972

DSC08973

And although these side pockets were a nightmare to sew through all the layers (a few broken needles), they look good if I do say so myself!

DSC08974

DSC08975

And a final pic of us on our way to the wedding…

DSC08980

34 thoughts on “Dreaming of… the final product!

  1. Pingback: A cold and frosty morning… | dreaming of avonlea

  2. Pingback: Dreaming of…silence on ye olde blog front  | dreaming of avonlea

  3. Pingback: Dreaming of…cheap and easy makes. | dreaming of avonlea

  4. It’s really beautiful and fits well!
    My favorite part is the architecture of the shoulder, those three seams… the two vertical ones with the perpendicular one… they just make a work of art out of those shoulders!

I'd love to hear what you think...

