Dreaming of…tricky makes and community advice

Help!

I’m currently in the process of making a coat for Martin.

The lining is all going well, it fits and nothing needs too much alteration, but I can’t find a nice coat wool that he likes.

DSC08562

All the pieces ready to go - just waiting for the main fabric!

All the pieces ready to go – just waiting for the main fabric!

The pattern

The pattern

Are there any decent UK online shops? Anyone have any recommendations? Any tips would be greatly received!!

2 thoughts on “Dreaming of…tricky makes and community advice

  1. Hello, I can’t answer your wool query sorry, but I have seen that several sewing Twitter girls have been making coats recently, they may have suggestions. Can’t remember exactly who, possibly @jolittletime or @scruffybadger or @Crafty_Alibobs. Good luck! And also, not wishing to alarm you, I have signed up for the dressmaking course at Calon Yarns on Tuesday’s. Am very excited, but will try to control myself. I would love to make this https://www.colettepatterns.com/sewing/dahlia

    What do you think? Colette are running a sew along that I have signed up for. I spent most of yesterday making a Delphine skirt from Tilly & the Buttons book, but I stopped when I started to get cross with my invisible zip! Not good to sew when cross! I’m going to have a good look at the instructions today and if I think it’s not too much for me I shall head down to City Road tomorrow (no clients, though I should be doing housework!)

    See you on Tuesday Best wishes Sara Sent from my iPhone

    >

I'd love to hear what you think...

