Dreaming of…the more sureau’s the better

And here she is. Sureau no. 2.

DSC08241

DSC08240

Version no. 1 was great, but this one is definitely my favourite!

DSC08245

DSC08247

I told you about the cutting process last time, but I changed a few things with this one.

I had much more of this fabric so I cut and attached a gathered half circle skirt.

DSC08250

The floatiness of the fabric also leant itself better to gathers over drapes on the bodice.

DSC08256

DSC08251

I used some vintage buttons and this beautiful vintage collar from my stash. Annoyingly, and even though I pinned it about 14 times, the collar is about 3mm off centre on one side. I tacked it down a little bit and I don’t think it’s too noticeable, especially when tucked under the button. What do you think?

DSC08259DSC08263

You may have also noticed that I’m loving the petal sleeves at the moment. They’re just so easy to fit in! Next time I think I’d make them deeper, but I still think they’re cute like this!

DSC08258DSC08265

There’s not too much more to say about the construction of this dress, I finished the neckline and armholes with bias binding again, which gives a nice clean finish, and used a rolled hem on the skirt and sleeve edges.

And here’s some final photos ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC08266

DSC08269

DSC08272

18 thoughts on “Dreaming of…the more sureau’s the better

  1. This is absolutely gorgeous! That collar stopped me in my tracks – seriously! It is BEAUTIFUL! And I can’t see any problems with it at all. I now think I’m going to have to buy this pattern, because I’ve seen so many lovely versions of it, and Deer and Doe patterns fit me well.

  2. Absolutely adore this! The buttons are a great touch, and even though they seem a bit larger than the standard, they go really well and pop against the fabric. Also, the collar was a great addition. I can’t really tell that it’s off- it’s super negligible. Another great reconstruction!

  3. Oooo. That lace collar transforms this dress! And those buttons push it over the top! I was too busy ogling the details in your dress to even notice the collar was a smidge off-center. I think this is gorgeous.

  4. This is gorgeous, I love how you have styled it. Advice please…I have bought some modern collars like this but am unsure how to attach them. How did you fasten yours on? Is it sewn on top or as part of the neck facing? Thanks

    • Thanks! This one was light enough and wide enough for me to just match up the raw edges of the collar and the neckline and then I used bias binding to face the inside. Sometimes though I sew the collar to the neckline, wherever I want it to be based on the next step…and then fold bias binding around the neckline to encase it all. Does that make any sense at all?? Apologies if not! I’ll try and take photos next time x

I'd love to hear what you think...

