Dreaming of … more vintage up-cycles

Next in the series of up-cycled items…

This smock like dress – perhaps it was a nightdress? – from my vintage suitcase haul.

photo 1photo 2

There were so many cute features I loved on the original of this dress. The hand covered buttons and button loops, the crossover sleeves, the gathered shoulder yokes.

I wanted to keep all of these bits so I updated it in a sympathetic way.

First of all I opened up the side seams and recut the bodice so that I could add darts.

DSC08102DSC08129DSC08117

DSC08126

DSC08111

I chopped off the sleeves so that I could reattach them as small petal sleeves.

DSC08104DSC08128DSC08143
DSC08109
DSC08132

Then I gathered the skirt and reattached it all together.

DSC08110DSC08107

DSC08105DSC08103DSC08101

All in a days work and a very cute dress to show for it, I hope you’ll agree!

17 thoughts on “Dreaming of … more vintage up-cycles

  1. Pingback: Me Made May Days 11-17 | dreaming of avonlea

  2. The sleeve readjustment is probably my favorite part on this dress- it gives it a modern update and is summer-casual! The addition of the darts on the bodice also makes that V-neck actually work- I can’t even imagine how awkward it may have looked in its original form!

  3. Another gorgeous refashion!! I’m loving this dress so much. I always like your refashion posts, because I just look at the before photo and try to think what I would do with it. You always have better ideas than me though!

  4. What a cute dress!
    I definitely would not have even tried it on from that first picture! But you definitely made it beautiful!
    My favorite part is the petal sleeves, I just love the look of those!

  5. You’re amazing at upcycling! Your dress is lovely & it’s great you worked out how to keep so many original features.
    I should have recognised the castle – I’ve visited it a few times as my brother used to live in Abergavenny. I loved visiting him!

I'd love to hear what you think...

