Dreaming of … strawberries and sunshine

As promised, here is the circle skirt I showed you how to make on Wednesday.

DSC06878DSC06880

I wore the skirt last weekend when the sun was finally shining and we decided to go strawberry picking – apparently it’s the early birds really do catch the worms strawberries though and we (arriving mid-morning) were left foraging for any ripe ones. We didn’t let that put us off though and collected a good few to have with meringues and once we’d run out of strawberries to collect, we thought we’d better boost our energy with some of their homemade ice cream. That was a good choice – in fact so good that I forgot to take photos of it!

Got carried away and picked unripe ones too!

Got carried away and picked unripe ones too!

To make up for that, here’s a picture of my strawberry nails!

DSC06876

I already know that this skirt will not stand the test of time. It’s made from vintage curtain lining, which I dyed blue and didn’t realise how threadbare it was until I was too invested.

DSC06879DSC06882DSC06890

As you might imagine, the fabric is butter soft – and yes, as you can see, it creases like a beach. There are already a few holes and some patches that are nearly worn through, but do you think I’d let that stop me wearing my new pastel summer circle skirt? No! I wanted to twirl! So I just wore short leggings underneath in case there were any unexpected tears! (Fortunately there weren’t and the skirt lives to see another day).

DSC06883DSC06884

DSC06886DSC06887
DSC06889

There’s not much to say about this skirt that I haven’t said in the tutorial…you can see how it sits nicely with a belt and I actually like how the bias binding makes the hem fluted. So long as you ignore the tremendously wonky hem, then I think it’s a very versatile skirt and I’m sure I’ll wear it until it really does fall apart! DSC06885

6 thoughts on “Dreaming of … strawberries and sunshine

I'd love to hear what you think...

