Dreaming of … summer skies and floaty dresses

If only these photos were representative of the Welsh weather at the moment. Unfortunately they are most definitely not. I managed to snap these after school last week in between rain in the afternoon and rain in the evening.

DSC06751DSC06753

The river is nice and full for the ducks though!

The river is nice and full for the ducks though!

Wearing this dress, even for just a few photos, felt great and I can’t wait for some proper sunshiny weather to wear it properly.

DSC06756

I used, fast and easy Butterick 3356 for this dress and it really was true to it’s name. No darts, no fastenings, no linings! Super easy!

The original dress pattern is for a loose fitting dress, which doesn’t always suit me, so I added waist ties.

DSC06760DSC06766DSC06767

DSC06770

It also calls for a gathered rectangle skirt, but I wanted a bit of a flare so I made a half circle skirt with a central front and back pleat.

DSC06772

DSC06773

DSC06778DSC06783

The neck and armhole edges are finished with ribbon. Yes, ribbon. Basically I’d run out of bias binding and seeing as the whole point of a ‘fast and easy’ pattern is that it should be fast and easy (!!) I took the lazy route of seeing what I had in my stash. What I had was some yellow ribbon so I put it to good use. Feel free to slap me on the wrist! It isn’t really tooooooo bad, but does stick out a little bit awkwardly around the neck. Hopefully the busy print of the dress makes it less obvious.

DSC06781

DSC06787

DSC06788

Fingers crossed for some warm weather soon!

17 thoughts on “Dreaming of … summer skies and floaty dresses

  1. Pingback: The Little White Dress | dreaming of avonlea

  2. Pingback: Me Made May Days 25-31 | dreaming of avonlea

  3. Ugh this stupid weather needs to respect our photo shoots! The colours in this and your matching belt are so pretty. Great fast work!

  4. Slap you on the wrist? Nu-uh…I think you’re clever to use ribbon. So, for some reason I didn’t know you lived in Wales. How lovely. I’ve visited very briefly, just Cardiff, but one day I’d love to really see all Wales. One of my favourite authors writes a series set in Wales; The Constable Evans series by Rhys Bowen. I want to hike up Mount Snowdon!

  5. Love what you did with this summer dress. That’s creative thinking using ribbon as an alternative for bias finishing to armholes and necklines. Need to remember that one.

    • Thank you. Yes, it was the colours that drew me in. Fair warning, ribbon was fine, but it definitely doesn’t lie as flat as real binding – it will do though! And maybe softer ribbon will work even better than mine as it was quite stiff!

I'd love to hear what you think...

