Dreaming of…cobbled streets, simple separates and free patterns

So, who’da thunk it, the pretty streets around Ghent, are great for taking photos.

So I did!

DSC05999DSC05997

Before going on holiday over Easter I made some more items from my list – a Dixie DIY 2 piece tunic top – remade from my jersey maxi skirt, which was always too clingy to be comfortable, and this Helena skirt made from some very soft organic cotton. Both of which are completely free patterns!

topDSC06022DSC06027

There’s not much to say about the construction of either item. I cut the smallest size for the top, but wearing it and looking at the photos now, I think I need to lower the under bust seam by a few inches.

DSC06033DSC06028

The skirt is pretty much a pleated rectangle skirt, but has a slight tulip shape.

skirtsskirt

I used up some of this lovely ribbon to make it a bit more interesting

I used up some of this lovely ribbon to make it a bit more interesting

Other than that, we had great fun meandering through the streets and feeling like we’d earned the chocolate and waffles at every corner!

DSC06031

I’m sure you’ll see these 2 items popping up in Me Made May – watch out for this weeks update over the weekend!

6 thoughts on “Dreaming of…cobbled streets, simple separates and free patterns

    • Thank you – it was so beautiful everywhere we went in Belgium! And I’m very sure that if you picked up a sewing machine (maybe not literally), you’d be surprised at how quickly you could make a similar skirt! It’s nearly all straight lines and rectangles

I'd love to hear what you think...

