A Prehistoric Adventure

Ok, don’t get your hopes up – adventure might be an exaggeration. This is more a tale of a rather pleasant day.

There was some clambering involved

There was some clambering involved

And some peeking

And some peeking


And plenty of losing my balance on the rocks!

And plenty of losing my balance on the rocks!

DSC05351DSC05354

However, the prehistoric bit is true. I definitely will be telling you about the dinosaur eggs on the trip. Ok, another lie. Just call me Pinnochio and be done with it – they are actually just rocks.

Am I walking on dinosaur eggs?

Am I walking on dinosaur eggs?

Nope, just rocks

Nope, just rocks

Although there are some fossils!

Although there are some fossils!


And you can imagine this landscape millions of years ago

And you can imagine this landscape millions of years ago

DSC05357DSC05359

But ‘a pleasant day and some rocks’ didn’t sound like a very good title.

Anyway, the long and short of it all is that we have been having a lovely warm weekend here in Wales so we went to the beach today. It was glorious – warmth, sun, lunch in a beer garden and dinosaur eggs lovely smooth rocks.

DSC05323DSC05327DSC05328

Is anyone out there wondering why I made the conscious decision to pick up and carry a load of rather heavy stones up a coastal path back to the car? Pattern weights obviously. I often waste precious dressmaking minutes looking for things to weigh down my patterns rather than spending the time pinning them. I’ve been meaning to get some weights for ages and these rocks looked like the perfect solution.

OMG a dragon!  Oh no it's some driftwood. Prehistoric thing gone too far?

OMG a dragon!
Oh no it’s some driftwood.
Prehistoric thing gone too far?

The dinosaur eggs stones weren’t quite enough on their own so I used some more of our metallic paint samples to spice them up a little bit.

rocks

I plan to make them even prettier like these (which coincidentally popped up on my pinterest feed today), but that will have to wait until they’ve dried out. Who else used to do this as a child? Collect and paint pebbles I mean, not exaggerate the excitingness of their day. (Although I’m sure I did that too!) It was one of my favourite parts of going to the beach.

5 thoughts on “A Prehistoric Adventure

  1. Pingback: An update on some rocks | dreaming of avonlea

  2. Lovely coastal photos in the sunshine. I grew up on the North Wales coast, around Llandudno’s Great Orme. You took me right back. Here in Yorkshire, I have a few grey smooth pebbles from North Wales on my window sill.

I'd love to hear what you think...

