My Quick Fix

DSC04444
DSC04361

Recently, I’ve been craving my sewing machine and the satisfaction of completing a project. Before heading home for Christmas this year I had a day with nothing planned (quite a rarity in the past few months), so I set to work to fill it. I made 24 mince pies, a carrot cake, started a canvas and then turned to sewing. At this late stage in the day I needed something simple and quick. A circle skirt. Instant gratification indeed.

DSC04451DSC04362
DSC04366

I had 2m of this lovely cherry print, which I managed to squeeze a full circle skirt from. I’m not sure of the fabric content, but I think it must be some kind of wool blend as it dries very quickly and doesn’t seem to crease at all.

DSC04414
DSC04418
DSC04420
DSC04441

I hung the skirt for a few hours to let the hem drop and then trimmed it to a symmetrical length.

DSC04346

There’s nothing at all to say about the construction of this skirt – it’s a very simple pattern. It is lovely to wear with a slouchy jumper and boots, but I’m sure it will work well in the spring too. I’m not too keen on overlapping button closures on skirts so I just attached a loop to fit the button through. I had this perfect button in my stash – it matched the cherries and it’s very satisfying to use up those lonesome buttons on skirts. The added bonus of this method is that you don’t need to sew a buttonhole!

DSC04454

I wore this on christmas day…for about 10 minutes because unfortunately the waistband is not very forgiving and my waist definitely needed to be forgiven! Plus I had to beg my brothers to take photos of me posing and for some reason they got bored of this quickly – odd.

DSC04438DSC04436
DSC04423

So I quickly returned to my pyjamas and Christmas jumper!

DSC04313

I hope you all had a lovely day and that you chose more forgiving waistbands than mine!

7 thoughts on “My Quick Fix

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday to me! | dreaming of avonlea

  2. Very pretty! And Brothers! You think they would be a little more patient with their sister! 😉 Happy New Year! I am looking forward to seeing more of your makes in 2014…

I'd love to hear what you think...

