A Canvas for Christmas

DSC04269

Remember when I made my Mum this canvas? Well it prompted some requests from my brothers – which I was more than happy to oblige.

So first up I made one for my little brother Sam for Christmas,

DSC04266

DSC04264

DSC04263

He wanted a canvas made up of lots of shades of orange, but try as I might I couldn’t mix enough nice shades, so I went back to the drawing board, covered the whole thing in gold (that’s like a luxurious orange right?) and layered it up with all the different colours I could get my hands on.

100_3786

DSC04268

And he loves it – wahoo!

DSC04274

If anyone wanted to recreate their own it’s really quite simple.
1. Buy a canvas – I usually get mine from places like Home Bargains, Wilkinsons, The Range etc.
2. Decide whether you are going to do this outside or inside. If you are inside then open up a bin liner and put it on the floor underneath your canvas – it will catch the many many drips! If outside, then just be prepared to have some colourful grass and to get cold!
3. Paint a background colour – in this case gold. (I used sample pots of wall paint and some poster paints for this canvas).
4. Lean your canvas up against something so that it is standing up – I used a big paint tin.
5. Water down your paints a bit so that they will run easily – I mixed them in some old cups and tupperware.
100_3785
6. Start from the top and carefully drip down different colours from the top edge.
7. Give them some time to drip.
8. Turn the canvas 180 degrees and drip from the other side so that it balances.
Et Voila!

Additional steps if you like the pretty paint drips left on the bin liner:
drips
1. Get a large sheet of good quality art paper i.e. cartridge paper.
2. Place it on top of the paint spill and press down, smoothing the paint out under the paper.
3. Peel off the paper and repeat on a different section until the paper is pretty much covered.
4. Let it dry.
5. Cut out the sections you like and put them in a frame for some colourful, abstract art!

paper prints

I hope that you all had a wonderful Christmas yesterday! Enjoy the left over Turkey today!

DSC04272

One thought on “A Canvas for Christmas

  1. Pingback: To infinity and beyond…and all from inside the kitchen | dreaming of avonlea

I'd love to hear what you think...

