Apparently ’tis the season to be jolly

DSC04081

I think the best way to be jolly is to fill your time with lovely people and fun crafts. So that’s exactly what I did this weekend.

We started by picking out and decorating our trees (yes treeS plural, although one is a fake one (pause for gasps of horror) that we’ve had since our student days), which was great fun and very festive. Do you like what we did with them? I just love fairy lights.

DSC04111

DSC04115

DSC04117

DSC04087

DSC04085

DSC04120

DSC04121

Then it was time for a spot of shopping in the Christmas Markets in town. There were some lovely stalls and I picked up quite a few presents, but I couldn’t put up with the crowds for much longer. Internet shopping is so much more civilised from the comfort of the sofa! Luckily we were meeting friends for (more) mulled wine and bratwursts so I soldiered on and was well rewarded with more carbs than I could throw a stick at!

DSC04091

DSC04093DSC04092

On sunday, after reflecting on tree 2, I realised that it was missing some personality, so I consulted Pinterest and whipped up some VERY simple homemade decorations.

Just cut a square of fabric big enough to go around tacky baubles and then tie with a bow ribbon - simples

Just cut a square of fabric big enough to go around tacky baubles and then tie with a bow ribbon – simples

Oh my gosh - THE cutest penguin. Draw your outline with a sharpie on a lightbulb, then paint. I just used unwatered water colour paints. Ah bless him.

Oh my gosh – THE cutest penguin. Draw your outline with a sharpie on a lightbulb, then paint. I just used unwatered water colour paints. Ah bless him.

Some felt stuck to a fir cone = an owl duh!

Some felt stuck to a fir cone = an owl duh!

No tutorial needed - I made it even simpler by not turning inside out to give it a rustic look. I also left the loop with really long ends that could be tied in a bow.

No tutorial needed – I made it even simpler by not turning inside out to give it a rustic look. I also left the loop with really long ends that could be tied in a bow.

A polystyrene ball pinned with drawing pins and with a ribbon around the middle for the loop

A polystyrene ball pinned with drawing pins and with a ribbon around the middle for the loop

So in summary, spending time with the bestest people, decorating the house and doing something creative is definitely a good way to feel jolly.

I'd love to hear what you think...

