The lead role

DSC03964

DSC03966

So, I gave Pauline Alice’s Cami Pattern another try recently. Last time I made it, something mysterious happened and the dress, which I had so carefully muslined, turned out far too small. This time it’s too big. I’m not quite sure how that happened either, but I really like the more casual feel it gives the dress, which I think will give it more of a lead role in my wardrobe rather than just having cami-o appearances. Pah ha ha – ok you can stop judging me for using the same awful joke twice!

DSC03967
DSC03974
DSC03957
DSC03961

There isn’t much to say about the construction of this as it’s all covered in Pauline’s detailed sew along. Pretty much the only thing I changed was to add a lining. To do this I just made up the bodice pieces in lining fabric as well and then I sewed the bodice and the lining fabric together at the raw edges of the neck, armhole and centre front. Once I’d done that I just treated the whole thing as one piece to attach the collar, sleeves and button placket to.

DSC03976
DSC03979
DSC03981

I wore this dress on Friday, when I was also fortunate enough to meet the lovely Roisin of Dolly Clacket fame. We explored Cardiff’s nod to fabric shops, got interviewed about our secret skills (?!) and made a pact not to be crazy internet psychos. It was all good!

Pretty Purchases

Pretty Purchases


Thank you New Look pattern sale

Thank you New Look pattern sale

DSC03978

14 thoughts on “The lead role

  1. Pingback: Polka polka! | dreaming of avonlea

  2. Pingback: I hope this dress is … sew Dolly Clackett | dreaming of avonlea

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday to me! | dreaming of avonlea

  4. This is a great looking dress! I am currently working on one from one of the patterns you have shown. It isn’t going that well, so maybe I will change my mind and make one like this. 🙂

  5. Gah! I can’t believe it has taken me so long to comment, I am shamefully behind in commenting on lovely blogs. Lara, it was SUCH a pleasure to meet you and I can’t thank you enough for showing me around City Road. Thanks also for not murdering me, I really appreciated that. Let’s keep up the non-murdering pact and maybe we can meet in Birmingham sometime too! x

I'd love to hear what you think...

