A Cami-o appearance

Pah ha ha, see what I did with the title there?

But, unfortunately it’s true. My lovely Cami dress intentions have not ended so well and I now have a beautifully made shirt – that doesn’t fit :-(.

DSC03718
DSC03722

I’m not quite sure how as the muslin fit perfectly, but I have a sneaking suspicion that I didn’t fold back the button placket on the muslin, therefore leaving me with a shirt that only just does up. I was so sad when I first realised that it wasn’t going to fit, but I carried on making it nicely rather than giving up and doing it slapdash, and now I can either gift it to a tiny friend, or list it on etsy.

DSC03719
DSC03720

I already have plans to make another one, which is exactly the same (but bigger obviously) so that I can wear it too! Now that I’ve made it once, I can knock one up pretty quickly I hope.

Hopefully I’ll be able to show you those pictures soon, but for now you’ll have to make do with these.

DSC03723
DSC03726

I did sort of follow along with the sewalong, but I just kept leaving it in the evenings and catching up at weekends. The instructions were all very simple to follow though and the pictures were helpful.

To be honest, it’s a pretty straightforward pattern so long as you’ve had a go at collars before. My collar somehow came out too long, but I just cut it down and resewed it until it worked.

I did have to make it a little more complicated for myself as I added a bodice lining. I’m not a big fan of unlined dresses, plus my fabric was see-through!

DSC03727
DSC03728

If anyone is interested in hearing how I lined it then I can do a post? Just let me know.

DSC03729

In other news, my last giveaway winner never contacted me, so I redrew names from a hat and Elena came out this time. If you’re reading this now Elena, first of all well done for reading through such a long post and second of all, email me and we’ll sort out shipping your dress!

10 thoughts on “A Cami-o appearance

  1. Pingback: Polka polka! | dreaming of avonlea

  2. your creations are so beautiful! Can’t believe you learned to do that all by yourself, that’s amazing, keep up the good work 😉 xxx

  3. Pingback: The lead role | dreaming of avonlea

  4. I like it. I love blue and polka dots sell it for me. The gold buttons are also a nice touch. It funny when things I make don’t fit they usually come out too big.

  5. Yay, I’m so excited to have won your redraw! That’s amazing, thank you!

    Your Cami shirt is very cute, and at least now you’ve had the experience of making it and your second one will fly along. Can’t wait to see it!

  6. Well shoot! I can imagine you must be sad! I would be- ON the other hand you now have some experience, it will go quicker next time and someone else will have a very pretty top! Love your fabric. It WILL be a great dress! ~Laurie

I'd love to hear what you think...

