101 locations

Note to self, wearing light dresses in windy weather is not advisable.

I intended to take photos of this dress in our garden, but the wind did not agree. I tried and tried and ended up with only 2 photos that could be shown in public…even these were probably revealing if you were standing in a different location!

too windy

So we came inside and tried a few places…

too crowded
too bare

Before finally settling for my sewing room.

DSC03645

that will do

About the dress. I love it, but I cut the pattern wrong and it’s a bit gapey around the chest. I think I cut the side bodice a size too small, so to make up for it, I cut the front bodice a size too big, which means that the princess seams aren’t over the fullest part of my bust, hence the gapeage!

The fabric is a delightfully soft viscose that I managed to get on sale from John Lewis. It’s quite thin so I lined the bodice, but left the skirt. I can always wear a slip with it and I didn’t want to add any more bulk around the waist.

The pattern calls for a very full gathered circle skirt, which I didn’t have enough fabric for. Instead I just gathered 2 rectangles, the width of the fabric.

2 of my favourite details of this dress are things that happened through mistakes on my part. No. 1 – I didn’t make a muslin and the bodice was too long. Being far too lazy to take it apart and alter it properly, I added a horizontal tuck under the bust. You can’t really see it in the photos, but I think it adds a bit more interest. No. 2 – I ran out of purple buttons, but had these green ones, which were exactly the same shape and size, so I used them to finish off the dress.

detail

This dress is perfect for this time of year as I can just keep adding more layers over and under it as it gets colder! I can wear it buttoned up or with the top 2 open like lapels – which do you prefer?

button up

Update – I forgot to mention that I used this Butterick Glamour Collection 6203 pattern.
_KGrHqJ_hYE4_SOmuP_BOSCtRv-z_0_3_large

3 thoughts on “101 locations

  1. Pingback: Me Made May days 18-24 | dreaming of avonlea

  2. Looks great buttoned up and open at the top as well! I’d probably vote for te top two open though! What’s the pattern? It looks great, if love to have a go 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think...

