Mad Men Challenge Planning

Last Sunday I was feeling a tad sorry for myself… I’m sure I had full blown man flu and couldn’t face actually cutting out fabric or sewing in my freezing cold sewing room. So instead I put on Harry Potter OOTP – “no Martin there is definitely no limit to how many times one can watch and enjoy HP!!” and did some research for Julia Bobbin’s Mad Men Challenge 2. I now have a TERRIBLE confession…

I’ve never watched Mad Men. (Pause for you all to gasp, while I hang my head in shame). Fear not though, I have had it on my lovefilm high priorities list for quite some time now and have naturally stumbled across many of the outfits on numerous vintage dress web searches. So when it came to deciding on the dress I wanted to create, I knew that Betty would be my muse. I think I’m more of a Joan figure, but I can’t quite pull off that confidence in such seductive outfits, so Betty’s attire lends itself nicely to my existing wardrobe.

Hours passed by in pure web browsing bliss. My initial search narrowed it down to these dresses, which I could make from fabric I already have (tick – stash busting challenge) or at least I could make an inspired version rather than an exact copy.

I think this might be too formal for every day wear

I think this might be too formal for every day wear

Love it - but slim skirts and my derriere don't always make the best of friends

Love it – but slim skirts and my derriere don’t always make the best of friends

I think this is the one!

I think this is the one!

I can play with my striped fabric on the bodice.

I can play with my striped fabric on the bodice.

I’ve decided to go with the sleeveless, striped shirtwaist dress and would love to make an exact copy (maybe one day), but I think that this fabric and this pattern would work really well for a similar look. At least that way I’m not spending any more money so if it goes wrong I won’t be too devastated.

linen

_KGrHqJ_hYE4_SOmuP_BOSCtRv-z_0_3_large

Now all I have to do is find the time to make the actual thing. It was on my half term list of things to do, but I’m not sure what happened to half term – so it may be an evening and weekend job. Luckily I still have a while – the deadline isn’t until April 19th.

Are any of you entering the challenge? What are you planning to make? I can’t wait to see everyone’s finished pieces!

PS My tartan skirt made it into Burda Style’s Member Projects: Best of January 2013. Wahoo!

6 thoughts on “Mad Men Challenge Planning

  1. Just got my fabric yesterday, and am trying to decide on the perfect pattern. I’m going for a Joan look, inspired by her black with red rose print dresses. This should be a good exercise in really getting the fit right–finally doing a proper FBA and getting the darts just so. Really looking forward to seeing everyone’s creations!!!

  2. I love Betty’s dresses! The floral dress in the middle is great, I actually considered making a version of this one myself. I really love don’t new wife Megan’s garb too, I over that you can see the styles progress as the show moves on.

I'd love to hear what you think...

