A metre can go a long way

As a teacher I am very fortunate to receive lots of lovely presents at the end of the year. This year, amongst those gifts, I received this gorgeous piece of fabric from one of my pupils. It’s completely my style and so nice to receive such personal and thoughtful things.

There was 1m of the fabric and I could have played it safe and made a full skirt, but my pupil had drawn a sketch of what I should make and it pretty much matched what I would have designed myself.

cerys sketch

I chose to use Vogue V1102 again because it has a small bodice. I lowered the neckline quite a lot and redrafted the back to be more of a V. (I think it’s more flattering on me).

DSC02836

DSC02813

DSC02816

DSC02771

Obviously I didn’t have enough fabric to make a self-lining, but I’m sure you’ve all noticed that I like contrasting linings anyway. So I went for this hot pink and used it for the bodice lining and the pockets.

DSC02844

DSC02835

The skirt would have been a tad short if I had attached it straight to the bodice, so I added a contrasting black waistband and then pleated the skirt to that.

DSC02772

DSC02776

DSC02777

DSC02832

And that was pretty much it construction wise.

DSC02809

We went on a day trip to Wookey Hole caves on Thursday so I managed to snap some uber cool crazy golf photos (can I just note that I did get a hole in one on the last hole – boom!). I was desperate to wear the dress, but I think I will make a note for future reference, thick fabric and thick lining probably isn’t the best combination on one of the hottest days of the year – I nearly melted a number of times (that’s a more delicate way to describe how sweaty I was after the 1 and a half hour car ride home!!)!

DSC02820

skipping

PS I also made the pendant, which is for sale on my Etsy shop.

DSC02833

36 thoughts on “A metre can go a long way

  1. Pingback: Lurrrrvley fabrics! | cottonheiress

  2. Such a lovely prezzie! My partners going in to teaching. I’ll hope his pupils give him fabric for me…? Haha. Also can’t believe you went to Wooky Hole! Driven past it so many times. It sounds so mysterious and amazing!!!

  3. That’s so sweet they gave you fabric and a dress design :) I am amazed at how you made such a cute dress with only a metre of fabric…inspiring!

    -Amy (www.thatssewamy.com)

  4. Wow how awesome! I’m a teacher also but I usually get flowers and coffee mugs and such for gifts. Maybe I should broadcast my love of fabric a little more loudly ;). Love how this dress turned out and the beautiful contrast lining, your dresses always look super fabulous!

I'd love to hear what you think...

