Sew Enjoyable

I just read Hannah’s latest blog post on Made With Hugs and Kisses. And thought it was as good a time as any to agree to some new ways of thinking about my projects.

So I hopped on over to So I sewed this to get a badge and decide on some resolutions goals / attitudes towards my work.

So this year I pledge to:
1. Sew more separates – especially skirts and tops. That way I can wear them in more ways and perhaps I can learn new techniques over shorter spaces of time.
2. Pay attention to quality of fabrics. I need to make sure that they will drape as I want them to rather than just focussing on the pretty print.
3. Take my time with each project – I’ll confess I like the satisfaction of a finished project too much, I should focus on quality rather than quality.
4. Try to make season appropriate clothes – you wouldn’t believe how many lovely summer dresses I have that only come out once a year if lucky.
5. Learn / try a new finishing technique for at least one in 3 of my projects.

If I manage to stick to these I’m sure I’ll be able to take much more pride and enjoyment in my work.

5 thoughts on “Sew Enjoyable

  1. Pingback: Mad Men Challenge = DONE! | dreamingofavonlea

  2. Pingback: Working through my list – one stashbuster at a time! « dreamingofavonlea

  3. Pingback: A Tartan Focus on Enjoyment « dreamingofavonlea

  4. Thanks for the shout out and have fun with your joyful, stress free sewing :D

    I am exactly the same when it comes to taking my time and pacing myself. I like to sit down and know that I am going to have that project finished by the time I leave my sewing room – which obviously means I spend many hours at once in there. One thing I am coming to realise as I am on my final placement is that this cannot happen often. I need to figure out a way of fitting in an hour here or there, but still keep myself motivated to get a project completed! you will have to let me know how you get on
    xXx

I'd love to hear what you think...

